Provincial Disaster Financial Assistance has been Authorized for Major Flooding in the RDCK

Nelson, BC: Emergency Management BC (EMBC) has authorized Disaster Financial Assistance (DFA) for major flooding in the Southeast Region of British Columbia from May 18 to June 1, 2020. This includes the Regional District of Central Kootenay (RDCK) and all First Nations communities, electoral areas and municipalities within the geographic boundaries of the RDCK.

The RDCK experienced major flooding at the end of May which resulted in a region wide Evacuation Alert and multiple Evacuation Orders being issued. Damage throughout the region included washed out roads, culvert blockage, erosion, logjams, and property damage.

DFA is a provincial program to help individuals and local governments recover from uninsurable disasters. The goal of DFA is to provide assistance to individuals for their principal residence and to help small business/farm owners when their livelihood is at risk.

The following categories within the private sector are eligible for DFA; homeowners, residential tenants, small business owners, farmers, and charitable organizations. DFA can compensate individuals for 80% of eligible claims, after the first $1,000 to a maximum claim of $300,000. DFA is only for uninsurable losses and for losses where there is no other program offered by local, provincial, federal or international government or agencies.

DFA is available for essential items only. It provides or reinstates the necessities of life, including help to repair and restore damaged homes, including essential access to a primary residence and to re-establish or maintain the viability of small businesses and working farms. Loss of land or damage to land (except for some farm land) is not eligible for DFA.

For more information about the DFA program and specifics in regards to eligible applicants, eligible losses and the application process go to The site provides the DFA Application Form and other helpful information. The deadline for submissions is no later than September 28, 2020.

For questions, please contact EMBC Disaster Financial Assistance at 1-888-257-4777, email at or click here for more information.

To reach the RDCK Emergency Program, call 250-352-1539.

Incorporated in 1965, the Regional District of Central Kootenay (RDCK) is a local government that serves 60,000 residents in 11 electoral areas and nine member municipalities. The RDCK provides more than 160 services, including community facilities, fire protection and emergency services, grants, planning and land use, regional parks, resource recovery and handling, transit, water services and much more. For more information about the RDCK, visit


For media enquiries, please contact:


Dan Elliott

Communications Coordinator

Regional District of Central Kootenay

Tel: 250-354-3476




 Click here to read a print-friendly PDF version



The content on this page was last updated July 2 2020 at 4:45 AM