RDCK welcomes newest Board members and elects Chair, Vice Chair

Back row (left to right): Jessica Lunn, Tanya Wall, Garry Jackman, Rick Smith, Paul Peterson, Hans Cunningham, Bruno Tassone, Colin Moss and Adam Casemore. Front row (left to right): Suzan Hewat, Tom Newell, Janice Morrison, Tom Zeleznik (Nakusp -Alternate), Aimee Watson, Ron Toyota, Diana Lockwood, Andy Davidoff, Ramona Faust, Walter Popoff and Leah Main. Missing from the photo: Joseph Hughes

Nelson, BC:  The newest Directors of the Regional District of Central Kootenay (RDCK) Board were sworn in at their inaugural meeting today. One of the first items on the meeting agenda was the election of the RDCK Board Chair. Aimee Watson, Director of Electoral Area D, was elected by the Board as Chair. Ron Toyota, Mayor of the Town of Creston and RDCK Director, was elected Vice Chair. Both Chair and Vice Chair are one-year terms.

“I am sincerely honoured to have the Board’s support to lead them through the coming year,” said Chair Watson, who was first elected Director of Area D in 2014 and was acclaimed in 2018. “The RDCK Board is composed of diverse perspectives, all grounded in representing their communities in the best way they can. I am excited to work with all of my colleagues to help us achieve our collective goals.”

One new electoral area Director—Adam Casemore, who was elected to represent Electoral Area C—joined the Board of Directors and took the oath of office. Returning representatives for remaining electoral areas, both re-elected and acclaimed, were also sworn in.

Area A – Garry Jackman (Acclaimed)
Area B – Tanya Wall (Elected – Incumbent)
Area C – Adam Casemore (Elected – New)
Area D – Aimee Watson (Acclaimed)
Area E – Ramona Faust (Elected – Incumbent)
Area F – Tom Newell (Acclaimed)
Area G – Hans Cunningham (Acclaimed)
Area H – Walter Popoff (Acclaimed)
Area I – Andy Davidoff (Acclaimed)
Area J – Rick Smith (Elected – Incumbent)
Area K – Paul Peterson (Acclaimed)

Directors appointed by RDCK member municipalities—five of them new—were also welcomed to the Board:

City of Castlegar – Mayor Bruno Tassone (New)
City of Nelson – Councillor Janice Morrison (New)
Town of Creston – Mayor Ron Toyota
Village of Kaslo – Mayor Suzan Hewat
Village of Nakusp – Councillor Joseph Hughes (New)
Village of New Denver – Councillor Colin Moss (New)
Village of Salmo – Mayor Diana Lockwood (New)
Village of Silverton – Councillor Leah Main
Village of Slocan – Mayor Jessica Lunn

“On behalf of the RDCK staff, I’d like to recognize all Directors for taking their seats at the Board table,” said Stuart Horn, Chief Administrative Officer for the RDCK. “We are fortunate to have such an engaged, committed and passionate group of people representing the interests of the constituents we serve.”

Board meetings are open to the public and are held on the third Thursday of each month (see schedule below) at 9 a.m. in the Regional District Board Room, 202 Lakeside Drive, Nelson, BC, unless otherwise specified. Agendas and minutes are made available on the RDCK website.

Incorporated in 1965, the Regional District of Central Kootenay (RDCK) is a local government that serves 60,000 residents in 11 electoral areas and nine member municipalities. The RDCK provides more than 160 services, including community facilities, fire protection and emergency services, grants, planning and land use, regional parks, resource recovery and handling, transit, and much more. For more information about the RDCK, visit www.rdck.ca.


For further information, please contact:

Stuart Horn
Chief Administrative Officer
Regional District of Central Kootenay
Tel: 250-352-8152
Email: shorn@rdck.bc.ca

For media enquiries:

Maria Hypponen
Communications Coordinator
Regional District of Central Kootenay
Tel: 250-352-1531
Email: mhypponen@rdck.bc.ca

View the print-friendly version.

The content on this page was last updated November 16 2018 at 10:20 AM