Changes to hours of operation for some waste transfer stations coming soon

Nelson, BC:  Effective May 1, 2018, the hours of operation for some Regional District of Central Kootenay (RDCK) waste transfer stations will be changing.

Hours of operation at some sites will be extended, and reduced at others. These changes were made following a comprehensive review and recommendations from staff, which the RDCK Board of Directors approved at its meeting in January 2018.

Waste transfer stations with new hours of operation include: Balfour, Boswell, Central (Salmo), Edgewood, Kaslo, Marblehead and Slocan.

Hours of operation remain unchanged for: Burton, Crawford Bay, Creston, Grohman (Nelson), Nakusp, Ootischenia, Rosebery and Ymir.

For a comprehensive list of the new hours of operation for all affected sites, please visit the RDCK website at, under Services / Waste & Recycling / Hours of Operation. The information can also be accessed with this direct link: Information can also be obtained in person at waste transfer stations, by calling the RDCK Environmental Services Department at (250) 352-8161 / 1-800-268-7325, or by email to

Note that some hours continue to be subject to change. Any further changes will be posted on the RDCK website.

Incorporated in 1965, the Regional District of Central Kootenay (RDCK) is a local government that serves 60,000 residents in 11 electoral areas and nine member municipalities. The RDCK provides more than 160 services, including community facilities, fire protection and emergency services, grants, planning and land use, regional parks, resource recovery and handling, transit, and much more. For more information about the RDCK, visit


For further information, please contact:

Environmental Services Department
Phone: (250) 352-8161 / 1-800-268-7325

For media enquiries:

Maria Hypponen
Communications Coordinator
Regional District of Central Kootenay
Phone: (250) 352-1531

Read the print-friendly version [PDF - 294 KB].

The content on this page was last updated April 3 2018 at 2:24 PM