Electoral Area G - Hans Cunningham

Serving the communities of Hall Siding, Ymir, Ross Spur, Airport Road, Erie, Porto Rico, Nelway and Salmo North.

Having lived in the Kootenays since 1964, Hans likes to think of himself as a native Kootenay resident, although he was actually raised in Vancouver and attended university in Victoria. He is a former educator, having retired after a 36-year career as classroom teacher, administrator, and computer education specialist.

Active in civic affairs since he came to the Kootenays, Hans has worked for many organizations. At various times he has been on the executive of the Lions Club, the local Chamber of Commerce, President of the Community Association, and has been a member of the Ymir Fire Department since its inception in 1969. He became Chief of the Fire Department in 1973 and has twice received the Governor General's Exemplary Service Medal while serving in this position.

Hans was first elected to the Regional District Board as the representative for Area G in 1986, and served as Board Chair for some years.

Elected to the Executive of the Union of British Columbia Municipalities (UBCM) in 1991, Hans served until 2003, and was President of that organization in 2001-2002. While an executive member, Hans was appointed to the Community Charter Council by the provincial government and was a member of the team that drafted the Community Charter, a document that greatly increased the rights given to local government and at its inception, considered one of the most progressive documents of its type in Canada.

Hans was elected to the BC Regional Committee of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) in 2003. Hans served until 2012 and was president of the Federation from 2010 - 2011. His major project during that time was working with the Federal Government to advocate for a long term infrastructure plan to ensure that communities could plan for, and have funds available for, major infrastructure renewal projects.

At the present time, Hans is a member of the Local Government Committee of the Association of Kootenay Boundary Local Governments (AKBLG), and has been tasked with public education and input into the possible renewal of the Columbia River Treaty in 2024.

Alternate Director: Isabelle Herzig

The content on this page was last updated February 8 2019 at 12:53 PM